The Upper Hall, Yeo Farm, Chagford
This unique, historic settlement has been in existence since 1332 and in the hands of the same family from the mid 16th century until the late 20th century.
The Upper Hall, Listed Grade II*, was semi-derelict, with a shallow corrugated iron roof and no internal carpentry of any historic quality. The brief was to repair the masonry structure, replace the roof carpentry and re-roof and insert an upper. Basic facilities to allow ancillary domestic use were incorporated into the attached wing.
A new oak-framed structure with arch collar ties was inserted to support the thatch roof with a lime plaster and lathe ceiling below. The walls were consolidated and re-pointed inside and out with lime mortar and lime washed internally. The lower chamber floors are smooth concrete paviors laid on sand blinding over the early cobbled floor.
The upper gallery is boarded in English oak over underfloor heating and the hearth has been reinstated to allow open fires. Discreet electrical services and a contemporary lighting scheme provide power and functional lighting to enhance the historic fabric. Modern materials, glass, oak, stainless steel and concrete have been used in a plain and direct way and the building, with its massive ashlar granite stonework and robust openings, has acquired a clear, appropriate 21st century role.
Contractor: BWB Associates, Totnes